Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Shame Idols - The Light is Always On - 2007

Formed in the early 90s, the Shame Idols released two critically-lauded albums in the mid-'90s on the estimable Frontier Records. Singer/songwriter and guitarist Tim Boykin (ex-Carnival Season) formed the group in Birmingham in 1991 when his previous group, Pinky The Stabber, split up. The other band members, guitarist Bryan Price, bassist Buddy Banks, and drummer Jesse-Diego Suttle, had previously played together in the punk band Working Mothers.An early fan of the group, the Young Fresh Fellows' Scott McCaughey, hooked the band up with his then-current label, Frontier, and also introduced him to Seattle-based indie producer extraordinaire Conrad Uno, who produced both 1995's I Got Time and 1996's Rocket Cat. The Shame Idols split up in the late 90s, Boykin doing several albums with power pop favorites the Lolas. In September 2004 Shame Idols start to rehearse after not playing together for several years. New member Alan Helms, who played with Bryan and Jesse in Working Mothers, is added on bass guitar. Local shows and new material are well-received, and the band set about recording their third album, The Light Is Always On. -CD Baby

If you like "The Light is Always On" get it here!

Rate this posting:

1 comment:

changeling37 said...

thanks for this! Please upload Rocket Cat if you have it, I lost my CD of this many years ago and havent been able to find it.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin